Saturday, June 18, 2016

Canadian and US teams about to start running in Jukola 2016

There are four North American teams registered this year in the world's largest relay race - Jukola. At 23:00 Finland time (13:00 PDT, 16:00 EDT) on Saturday, June 18,  there will be a mass start of 1717 teams, running seven legs each through the night. If you want to follow the action, go to http://www.jukola.com/2016/en/live/. The two Canadian teams are from Ottawa (team #380) and the Yukon (team #384).

Here is the Yukon team, in running order from left to right: Pia Blake, Leif Blake, Forest Pearson, Jennifer MacKeigan, Ross Burnett, Svante Larsson, and Caelan McLean. Go Yukon!

Other teams to watch are the two US teams: Cambridge (team 230) and the US Junior Team (team 1701).

Earlier today, the all-woman Venla relay ran with 1345 4-person teams. Some well-known Canadians were running for European teams: Emily Kemp ran the anchor for Angelniemen Ankkuri (team 46) which placed 20th (she will also be running for the Ottawa team!) and Louise Oram ran anchor for Bäkkelagets SK 2 (team 365) which placed 60th. Amazing performances!

Go Canada! Go USA!

2 comments:

  1. Final results are in:

    - Ottawa: 207
    - Yukon: 595
    - Cambridge (US): 217
    - OUSA: missing final runner

    Well done everyone. I'm sure we will see some blog posts from the team members in the coming days.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great post, Yahoo Contact Number Canada is ready to help you. Call us on Yahoo support number Canada 1-888-582-4887 for password, account or hacked account recovery. Our helpline 1-888-582-4887 is 24x7 available for help and support.

    ReplyDelete